<p id="ageml"></p>

<bdo id="ageml"><noscript id="ageml"><legend id="ageml"></legend></noscript></bdo>
    <pre id="ageml"></pre>
    <p id="ageml"></p>

        Dead to Me (TV Series 2019– ) Poster

        (2019– )

        User Reviews

        Review this title
        336 Reviews
        Sort by:
        Filter by Rating:
        9/10
        NOT like grace and frankie
        benjigrissinger4 May 2019
        So...loved the show. But I have seen reviews of people who dislike it because it's too much "like grace and frankie" and other reviews of people who LOVE it because it is "like grace and frankie "...all of these people are wrong and it makes me think they didn't watch the whole series. Do not go into this expecting grace and frankie for the gen x generation...this show is much darker,the sense of humour is much more dry, and the subject matter is way heavier....I love both shows...but other than the fact that they both involve 2 women who live together after circumstances brought them into each other's lives, they have nothing in common. Go into it knowing it isn't a GandF knock off, and you will enjoy it much more.
        208 out of 219 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
        Permalink
        9/10
        Dark comedy and mystery? Fun!
        eelen-seth3 May 2019
        Dead To Me follows two women who tragically lose someone in their lives. This Netflix Original Series is very mysterious and the comedy is dark as the night. The first episode sets up the vibe for the rest of the show and it only pulls you in more and more, up to the point of no return.

        The two leads - Christina Applegate and Linda Cardellini - have wonderful chemistry. Their interactions and the moments of sorrow feel like as if they are best friends in real life and just connect in the most sincere and natural way. The acting is also just sublime and shows once again that these ladies don't get enough high profile acting jobs in Hollywood, which is a shame. The subject of the series is not an easy one to handle and to combine it with comedy is very risky, but it really works here.

        The episodes are easily bingeable with a runtime around 30 minutes and every episode has several situations our characters get in, that'll keep you interested while you watch it all unfold. Every episode also ends on a cliffhanger that made my jaw drop, over and over again - which I'm a sucker for.

        The show starts with Jen (Applegate) losing her husband in a hit-and-run accident. She's obviously having many problems and trying to deal with the fact she's a widow and single mother now, trying to raise her two teenage sons. She decides to join a meeting for those who lost loved ones and it's here we get to meet Judy (Cardellini). Both totally opposite personalities, but still connecting in a way they didn't think was possible. The pacing of every scene and episode is enjoyable and kept me engaged throughout. It's fun to see things progressing not knowing what will happen next.

        The events slowly come together as a cohesive whole and we meet several key witnesses and side characters that help our leads develop into different personalities, without losing the characteristics we love them for. This build up could escalate in unseen proportions and who knows what might happen to the people closest to them.

        The ending gets wrapped up really well and it does set up a potential follow up, but it could work as a standalone season. Dead To Me Season 1 is a tale of sorrow and mystery, the latter intriguing its interested audience the most. Don't think you've seen it all after the big twist gets revealed at the end of the first episode. More secrets arise, which cause lots of banter and drama. In my opinion the writers could've made it all even darker with the comedy-aspect and certain intense situations. Who knows what a second season might bring.. Although I think it would be a waste to see these characters disappear, since they are so much fun to spend time with on an evening after work, with a glass of wine in your hand. Cheers!
        138 out of 147 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
        Permalink
        8/10
        Binged it in one go
        ssabah803 May 2019
        This new show popped up on Netflix so we decided to watch an episode, 5 hours later the whole season came to an end. Really enjoyable dark comedy, drama, crime all wrapped up in to one. Great performances from both the ladies. If you are looking for the "who done it?" type of show you found it, however there is a slight twist. How does one reveal what they know. Enjoy it, looking forward to season 2.
        167 out of 180 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
        Permalink
        10/10
        SURPRISING BRILLIANT DARK COMEDY
        Danckersen4 May 2019
        I was sucked in within ten minutes. Brilliant acting and plot twists. I am always a fan of Christina Applegate, but Linda Cardellini SHINES! THOUGHTFUL, KIND AND HONEST. Enjoy the binge! Thanks NETFLIX!
        140 out of 151 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
        Permalink
        8/10
        Applegate & Cardellini Knock It Out Of The Park
        slightlymad223 May 2019
        The new show starring Christina Applegate and Linda Cardellini just had its full first season drop on Netflix and both leads totally knock it out of the park.

        It's premise (Two widows meet at a support group meeting, and become close friends) is not something that sounded interesting to me, but I love Christina Applegate, always have since I had a crush on her in Married With Children, and since then, I have always enjoyed her work in movies and TV. So I gave it a chance. Well, I binge watched the entire season in one go.

        Linda Cardellini is an actress I only know from the Scooby Doo movies and other supporting roles in comedies (Daddy's Home) and the MCU, I didn't really have an opinion of her, I didn't like or dislike her, but she is amazing here

        Darkly comic at times and heartbreaking at others, it is utterly compelling and each episode just makes you want to watch the next. I highly recommend it, one of the best TV shows I have seen in a long time.
        119 out of 128 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
        Permalink
        10/10
        Incredible!
        becky-rothwell4 May 2019
        Started with the Netflix teaser as I was aimlessly scrolling and 5 hours later I've watched every episode! And when I say 'watched' I honestly mean it. Not 'watched' whilst also playing games on my phone or 'watched' it in the background of doing other tasks. Watched! Eyes firmly fixed to the screen. It's a great balance of comedy and true tragedy. The acting is incredible, the main characters are fully formed and dynamic women that really show there is always a person behind the monster.
        114 out of 124 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
        Permalink
        10/10
        Binged the entire thing
        saniaqazi4 May 2019
        I went into the show expecting it to be another typical show about grief and dealing with loss, but I was pleasantly surprised after the first episode. I was instantly hooked and had to finish the entire thing immediately.
        56 out of 60 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
        Permalink
        9/10
        Gem
        kateabr4 May 2019
        Usually if I see Christina Applegate I'm already on board (have a soft spot for her since the "Married With Children" times) but damn she nailed this character, she shines in this role brilliantly! She absolutely owns every scene, floored me in the extra emotional scenes, such an underrated actress! She's so strong as a lead that for me the only properly competative actor on her level seemed to be (to my surprise) James Marsden and Brandon Scott. Great pacing, great story, great directing and acting and overall really great show! Highly recommend!
        60 out of 65 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
        Permalink
        10/10
        PHENOMENAL!!!!!
        ljholder33 May 2019
        This show is simply phenomenal! The acting is superb! You really feel the nerves of everything espacially Judy (Linda Cardellini)! The characters and plot keep you hooked and it's hard to stop binge watching! Christina Applegate's performance is astounding! But Linda!!! Hand her that Emmy now!! You empathize and fall in love with Judy! Such a well rounded character and pure. You want nothing but the best for her! I suggest you watch! IT'S AMAZING AND ONE OF NETFLIX'S BEST ORIGINAL SERIES!!
        64 out of 70 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
        Permalink
        10/10
        A refreshing take on grief
        nutmeg09134 May 2019
        I know too much about grief and this story explains so many different stages of grief that are not talked about. The story has so many twist and turns and it's well worth the watch
        75 out of 83 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
        Permalink
        10/10
        I accidentally the season
        jezemabel4 May 2019
        It was already late when I started with the pilot. I needed to sleep as I had an early morning. I watched the whole thing.

        Every episode was so enthralling. The writing, acting, and directing are just a treat! Such believable characters. Even though you think some of the situations they get themselves in seem a bit much, it's presented in such a way that you can understand what the characters are going through; what motivates them, and what they're feeling.

        Maybe I relate to the portrayal of grief, and trying to keep it together. The acting was on point. I love layered characters. Nothing is black, and white.

        Don't start watching this at 1am.
        66 out of 73 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
        Permalink
        10/10
        Absolutely Brilliant
        Shivam47Surya3 May 2019
        I never thought that the pilot episode would make me laugh and kind of sad and encourage me to share grief... It's weird in a way, ridiculous but in the best way... Lovely performances, precise dark comedy, absolute fun ride.
        75 out of 84 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
        Permalink
        10/10
        Dark Comedy interlaced with Dark Drama
        joeadhemar4 May 2019
        Up there with 'Fleabag' season 1 in it's genius. What appears to initially be an awkwardly dark comedy, slowly metamorphoses into a twisted conflict of ethics, dilemma and delivered by the most liberating performances from it's two leading ladies. This show will clear out at The Golden Globes. Who to choose? Applegate or Cardellini?

        Do not start the Pilot unless you have 6 hours to spare. You WILL binge.
        38 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
        Permalink
        10/10
        Amazing
        uqob4 May 2019
        Probably one of the most solid dark comedies I've watched in ages. Both Applegate and Cardellini deliver a very believable and surreal "Odd Couple" relationship that simultaneously makes you feel the sorrow and joy of the tragedy that brings them together. Here's why I gave this ten. I started watching it, ended up watching it until 4AM. Finished it in the morning and, STARTED WATCHING IT AGAIN. It begs to be watched again because of how the story unfolds. Outstanding series and I hope that Netflix renews it.
        38 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
        Permalink
        10/10
        Outstanding
        redhead-344594 May 2019
        Twists and turns with reality thrown in..... Great script... Great concept.... Refreshing in it originality....loved it and hope for a Season 2.....soon!!!!
        24 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
        Permalink
        10/10
        Love it !!
        caritha_s4 May 2019
        Just finished all 10 episodes and I loved every single one of them. I pray for a season 2!!
        46 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
        Permalink
        10/10
        I was awake the whole night!
        chonacholo4 May 2019
        Browsing through Netflix and found this gem. I watched it all the way in one go!!! It's 5 am and just finished all 10episodes. Sooo...when's season 2????
        28 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
        Permalink
        8/10
        Just binge-watched the whole 10 episodes
        kimbpaul4 May 2019
        I was having a crappy day, so grabbed a coke and some chips and hit the couch, looking for a little distraction. I forgot about the clothes in the dryer and at 9pm I took a break to throw a sandwich together because I realized I had missed dinner. Kept me riveted right to the end, which made me laugh out loud. Great characters, human and beautifully flawed. The actors were perfectly cast. I don't think any follow-up season is needed, the ending is perfect just the way it is. I'm stingy about giving 9's and 10's, so an 8 is great in my book.
        38 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
        Permalink
        10/10
        Brilliant
        sst430534 May 2019
        I'm just finishing the first episode and I'm so impressed. Christina and Linda are instantly likeable... the writing is super tight and clever. Very eager to continue watching this.
        23 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
        Permalink
        8/10
        Great!
        AsellusBorealis3 May 2019
        I'm five episodes in and I'm actually enjoying it quite a lot!

        Christina Applegate and Linda Cardellini are just great. The show is original, funny, witty but suspenseful and even deep at times.

        I've seen other people compare it to Grace and Frankie ( but darker), and I see the resemblance as both are comedies based on the friendship of two women who could not be more different from each other, but for some reason its atmosphere keeps me thinking that this is probably somewhere near where Santa Clarita Diet was going ( but sadly failed).

        My only concern about this show is that the plot may not be able to stretch for more than a season, maybe two, but let's see what happens. Other than that, if you like dark comedy, give this a go!
        21 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
        Permalink
        8/10
        An A++ to Netflix
        bshaef5 May 2019
        This is the type of series that makes Netflix the best streaming provider in TV land. Christina Appplegate and Linda Cardelllini are awesome throughout. My attention never wavered because I never knew what was going to happen next. And the chemistry between the two jumped off my large screen. Please, Netflix, more like this one. Should also give the writers the highest marks for excellent plot conception and development.
        25 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
        Permalink
        9/10
        Great Show
        raniajamil4 May 2019
        Worth watching. Liked it very much. Waiting for next season.
        24 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
        Permalink
        10/10
        Absurdly brilliant binge worthy
        jh-capetown4 May 2019
        Deliciously dark comedy drama thriller with wicked plot turns and absolutely great acting. Watched it all back to back, so good.
        22 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
        Permalink
        9/10
        Surprising...
        dominikabraniek3 May 2019
        From the beginning to an end the plot twists quite surprisingly. Also it was a real pleasure to watch Christina Applegate making a consequent and firm character out of Jen.
        19 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
        Permalink
        8/10
        So great
        bef19914 May 2019
        You can really see great acting come out with a good script, dialogue, and story line. Christina Applegate is so good this! You literally never know what's going to happen next in this show. It's a binger!
        21 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
        Permalink
        An error has occured. Please try again.

        See also

        Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


        Recently Viewed